Angebote zu "Memoir" (3 Treffer)

Kategorien

Shops

The End of the World as We Know It: Essays Abou...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

Winner of Child magazine's Book of the Year award for her hilarious and candid book on single motherhood, The Lunch-Box Chronicles, Marion Winik returns to the topic of parenting in these nine essays. Beginning with the story of her second wedding and her move to rural Pennsylvania, she covers everything from blending families and having a child in one's 40s to dealing with the legal problems of teenage boys to the evolution of the values of a family over generations. The central essay of the group, "The Story of Laurie," focuses on Winik's profound friendship with a mom she at first believes she has little in common with. As they get to know each other, she comes to understand just how wrong she was. Marion Winik is the author of the new memoir Highs in the Low Fifties: How I Stumbled Through the Joys of Single Living. It joins Telling, First Comes Love, The Lunch-Box Chronicles, The Glen Rock Book of the Dead, and others in the ongoing saga of her life, now seven volumes. She reviews books for Newsday, and contributes to the Sun and many other magazines. She has appeared on the Today show, Oprah, and Politically Incorrect, was a commentator on NPR's All Things Considered for 15 years, and was the Answer Lady for Ladies' Home Journal. These days, she is a professor in the MFA creative writing program at the University of Baltimore and lives in Baltimore, Maryland, with a couple of her kids and a miniature dachshund. This is a short audiobook published by Shebooks - high quality fiction, memoir, and journalism for women, by women. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Sasha Dunbrooke. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/adbl/023622/bk_adbl_023622_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 23.09.2020
Zum Angebot
Heads in Beds: A Reckless Memoir of Hotels, Hus...
9,95 € *
ggf. zzgl. Versand

In the tradition of Kitchen Confidential and Waiter Rant, a rollicking, eye-opening, fantastically indiscreet memoir of a life spent (and misspent) in the hotel industry. Jacob Tomsky has worked in hotels for more than a decade, doing everything from valet parking to manning the front desk. He's checked you in, checked you out, separated your white panties from the white bed sheets, parked your car, tasted your room service, cleaned your toilet, denied you a late check out, given you a wake-up call, eaten M&Ms out of your mini-bar, laughed at your jokes, and taken your money. And in Heads in Beds, he pulls back the curtain on the hospitality business, revealing the crazy yet compelling reality of an industry we think we know. It is an incredibly funny, authentic, and irreverent chronicle of the highs and lows of hotel life and boy, is there a market for it: in 2010, the American lodging industry generated $127.7 billion in revenue. Prepare to be amused, shocked, and amazed as he spills the unwritten code of the bellhops, the antics that go on the valet parking garage, and the housekeeping department's dirty little secrets. Prepare to be moved, too, by his insightful honesty about the profession; employees are often poorly paid and frequently abused. However, Heads in Beds is more than just a memoir. Jake explains the secrets of the industry, offering easy and legal ways to get what you need from your hotel without any hassle - from scoring late check-ins and upgrades to getting that pay-per-view charge knocked off your bill. This book will give you the knowledge you need to get the very best service from any hotel or property, from any business that makes its money from putting heads in beds. Or, at the very least, it will keep the bellhops from taking your luggage into the camera-free back office and stomping the crap out of it. 1. Language: English. Narrator: Jacob Tomsky. Audio sample: http://samples.audible.de/bk/rand/003324/bk_rand_003324_sample.mp3. Digital audiobook in aax.

Anbieter: Audible
Stand: 23.09.2020
Zum Angebot